Fashion & Textiles

This week we had to look at issues that had been in the news I looked at the chemical weapons that Syria had used on its own people when I researched it I was completely shocked at how awful it was and how horrifying the effects were on the people. This actually made me feel pretty sick when I looked at this. I also began thinking about atomic bomb that went off in Hiroshima so thought that my issue should be a world where we have had a world war 3 only using chemical and nuclear weapons so my character is a girl who is having to fend for herself after her whole family had been killed. There is very little food so when she comes across it she needs to be able to move really quickly to survive.

I thought having to get a knife and other things out of a bag all the time would be really annoying so I thought that a utility belt may be really helpful however when really thinking about this when my character would run the belt may move up and down. With this in mind I decided to make a skirt that had pockets and knife holders etc. 

I used torn up scrap fabrics to because this is all that my character would have had. I am really please with the outcome of my skirt and how it looks. Unfortunately I dont have any pictures on this laptop but will up load some soon!

Leave a comment